levels of care for the elderly
Written by webtechs

Levels Of Care For Elderly

Below are the six common levels of care for elderly citizens today.

Levels Of Care For The Elderly

These levels of care start with the least to most concentrated living situations, including:

  • In-home care.
  • Independent living.
  • Assisted living.
  • Respite care.
  • Memory care.
  • Nursing home.

Let’s dive into all of the options below.

In-Home Care

Generally referred to as “aging in place“, in-home care is intended for elderly citizens in need of help around the home. These seniors typically still possess the physical and mental capabilities to survive on their own, though. In-home care usually consists of personal care services provided, administering medications and daily check-ins.

There are numerous benefits of receiving in-home care. These benefits include being able to stay in a comfortable setting for as long as possible while aging. The only downside of this care is it does not typically last very long, as it is intended merely as a placeholder as one transitions to independent or assisted living care.

Independent Living

Independent living is a housing arrangement for those aged 55 and up. The housing types will vary from free-standing homes, apartment living and retirement communities. These communities are designed to let seniors get around as easily as possible. Landscaping and maintenance is usually performed by staff. Just like assisted living communities, independent living communities will offer residents various services and activity options. Communities generally feature pools, fitness center, dining and common areas.

Assisted Living

Assisted living facilities are settings where seniors live independently for the most part, but are provided with assistance when needed. Assistance, of course, will vary based on the individual’s specific needs, such as mobility issues, transportation needs and medication. If living at home has become a bit too hard or dangerous, then it may be time to think about assisted living. Some facilities will be in a residential-style neighborhood or in a large complex.

Respite Care

Respite care is intended for seniors who are a bit apprehensive about transitioning into assisted or independent care situations. In some cases, this care could last upward of a year, while lasting only one month in other scenarios. Essentially, respite care is a test run to see how comfortable an individual may be at an alternative care facility.

Memory Care

Memory care units are designed for residents in need of more specialized care and assistance. Memory care is often referred to as special care units, ideal for senior citizens suffering physically or with dementia/Alzheimer’s. In most cases, memory care units can act as a stand-alone facility or as part of an assisted/independent living community.

Nursing Home

Typically, nursing homes are the most concentrated living situation for seniors today. This care type features more invasive caregiving than any other living arrangement. This level of care is recommended for seniors who need frequent hospitalizations with worsening mental and physical conditions.

Assisted Living At Vista Winds Located In Peoria, Arizona

If you are doing research about retirement communities in Peoria, Arizona, Vista Winds Retirement Home should definitely be on your list. Vista Winds offers retirement living at its finest. We have a rich calendar of activities, meals prepared by a Chef and caregivers on staff 24 hours a day for your health and safety. We offer award winning independent livingassisted living and memory care services. Come tour our community to see how we are a step above the rest and how easy it is to Make Yourself at Home! Vista Winds is surrounded by amazing views and our resort style property will be sure to impress!

More Articles About Retirement